top of page
  • the.curlfriend

Let’s Flax - Gel with The Curlfriend

Updated: Jan 25, 2022


Step One.


Gather all your ingredients! You’ll need:

  • (1/4 c.) Whole flaxseeds

  • (2 c.) Water

  • Tongs or two spoons

  • Clean white pantyhose

  • Jar or container for gel

  • Jar or container for used flaxseeds

  • Essential Oil(s) for scent

  • Castor Oil or Vitamin E Oil


Before you start, prepare your strainer with a pantyhose on top of the jar or container. You’ll need this once the flaxseeds are ready to be removed from the boiled water.


Step Two.


Boil 2 cups of water and 1/4 cup of flaxseeds in a small pot on medium to high heat. Stir often so the flaxseeds don’t stick to the pan and burn. Then prepare your strainer.


Step Three.


After about 2-4 minutes (depending on how high your heat is or gas/electric) you will see white foam on the flaxseeds. Continue to stir.


Tip: The thicker or thinner the solution will be based on how high the heat is and how quickly you cook the gel. When waiting about 4 minutes on high heat, my mixture was more like a gel you’d buy from the store! YAS.

Step Four.


Pour the boiled flaxseeds into the strainer gently. Let the gel solution drain from the flaxseeds.

You can squeeze the flaxseeds in the pantyhose with tongs or the backs of two spoons to get the extra gel from the flaxseeds.


Then flip the pantyhose inside out to retrieve the flaxseeds into your second container. Make sure you have a lid to keep them fresh! (I put mine in the fridge!)


Step Five.


Essential Oil time! You can add your Castor Oil or Vitamin E Oil to the mix too. I’ve heard both Castor Oil or Vitamin E Oil extend the life of the gel.


You can also put it in the fridge. I added about half a teaspoon of Castor Oil and four drops of an essential oil mixture. Generally, the gel lasts between 1-2 weeks. Adding the preservative can extend the life more toward 3 weeks!


---


*Update* Some Flaxgel Tips!


It's almost been an entire year since I created this post so, I have some new tips just from making the gel so much. Peep below!


Sometimes, if you wait too long when draining the gel from the stocking, the flaxseeds will get cool making it hard for the gel to come off of the seeds and through the stocking filter.


You can squeeze more gel out of these babes.

You can tell that the gel didn't fully come off of the cooked seeds when it still has a jelly, slimy film over them (see picture).


To make sure you get all the gel you possibly can take the seeds out of the stocking and put them back into the pot you used originally!


Add about 1/4 cup of water and reboil.


Follow the same boiling steps, stir, etc. then the flaxseed gel will be hot again, making it easier for it to fall off the seeds through the stocking filter!


You'll notice that the seeds are less shiny after reboiling; so that just means you got all the gel!



No more gel left here! ^

Storing Your Used Flaxseeds


Also! I found that small Pyrex containers are perfect for storing the used seeds, because they are glass, and can withstand the heat of recently boiled flaxseeds, and have lids that securely protect the seeds from going bad!


But note, don't let the seeds sit in the fridge for more than a week and a half, and let them cool before storing in the fridge. (They last about 2 or so weeks in the freezer!)


I typically create more flaxgel with my stored seeds even if I didn't run out of the batch I made previously.


It allows me to make sure I'm reusing the seeds and gives me an "endless" supply of gel!


- - -


Overall, I Give this Gel an A+


On the third day, I put my hair up and re-wet it and without applying any more gel my curls were still crisp, shiny, and bouncy! It leaves the hair defined without the crunch and flakiness. It doesn’t stain clothes, it lasts for a couple of days without reapplication AND, it’s healthy for the hair!


Benefits of Flaxseed


Flaxseed promotes HAIR GROWTH. Yes, I said it. It can improve your scalp by providing it with all-natural nutrients found in flaxseeds. Flaxseeds contain omega-3 fatty acids, help nourish, protect, add shine to follicles and enhance DA BOUNCE in the hair. It has TONS of vitamin E



It Helps the Skin!


For those with sensitive skin, flaxseed is a natural moisturizer that fortunately doesn’t clog pores! ** I have sensitive skin and I’ve used an all-natural flaxseed gel (by @sheabynae) and my hair and skin loved it. Also, I’ve read and heard that the gel can tighten and improve complexion.. so I may be rubbing it on my face too lol


It's Eco-friendly AND Cheap!


Flaxseeds are REUSABLE. You can save money, create your own gel, and reuse the seeds.


You probably spend around $6 to $12 on gel, creams, etc. every two weeks. That’s $180 to $360 A YEAR.

That's two, no three professional massages. THAT IS LIFE IN YOUR POCKET. MULA TO SAVE FOR A VACAY. Or pay ya bills.

It lasts for 1-2 weeks in the fridge without a preservative—natural preservatives you can add are rosemary, castor oil (that’s what I used, just a tad though) tea tree oil, lavender oil, or grapefruit seed extract. This is so raw and healthy, you could eat it if you wanted to… I mean I wouldn’t, but just saying.


bottom of page